Track Information








Cheryl Heldreth - Track Photographer

Contact Us


South Florida Karting Presents:

6th Annual South Florida Shootout
Sponsored By:


The 6th annual South Florida Shootout will be held at Martin County Kartway in Hobe Sound, Florida on January 18, 2014. This event will feature a guaranteed purse of $1,000 and a guaranteed winner’s prize of $500. The event is held for senior champ karts running either a BP or Animal motor with minimum weight 425#. This event is unsanctioned but will be using FKA/AKRA engine tech rules.

2014 Shootout Format
This format is based on a kart count of 24 – 36 karts entered into the race. If we have 36 – 48, there will be 4 groups, and the top four of each group will qualify for the main event. If we have 24 karts or less, then we will run the heat race, eliminate the Consi race and start all karts entered and set the starting line up by 1. heat race finish, 2. fastest lap time.

Heat (15 qualifiers)
The karts will be split into 3 groups by pill draw. Each group will run one 10 lap heat race and the top five finishers of each group will qualify for the main event.

Consi Race (3 qualifiers)
Those who did not qualify for the main event will run in a 10 lap consi race. The top 3 finishers of the Consi race will qualify for the main event starting positions 16, 17, and 18. Starting order for the consi race will be determined by 1. Heat race finish, 2. Fastest lap time in the heat race.

Main Event (20 starters)
Positions 1-15
The first 15 qualifiers for the main event from the heat races will determine their starting position by 1. Heat race finish order, 2. fastest lap time in the heat race.

Positions 16, 17 and 18
The three qualifiers from the consi race will start in positions 16, 17 and 18 in finishing order of the consi race.

Position 19 and 20
There will be two provisional starters for the main event. Position 19 will be the highest SFKA Sr. Champ 2 racer in points for the 2009 season that did not qualify for the main event. Position 20 will be the Promoter's choice. (Orlando SECKS race winners if not currently in the field) or other Promoter's choice.

Prize structure
There will be $1000 given away in the following prize structure:

1st place - $500
2nd place - $250
3d place - $125
4th place - $75
5th place - $50